Posted by: MandyS | April 28, 2014

Personal Learning Network

I need to know the current sentencing policy for assault to decide whether I ask for magistrates or crown court. What do I do? Well I suppose first I go to the policy but, being written some time ago, it doesn’t really give me the up-to-date  position or the position locally. I could go ask colleagues or telephone someone but I may wait a few days if there is no-one in the office or available that has first hand experience. What I could do instead is take to social networking sites. I could Tweet the question to a barrister in the know about this sort of thing, or ask on Facebook or trawl blogs etc. of legal experts. I may or may not get the information any quicker but my question will reach a wider audience and may be helpful to others in a similar situation.

Here is a visual I created about what they can achieve:

PLN2

So being able to create ones own PLN is a must. I have thought about my own and this is what I have come up with:

Personal Learning Network

It probably doesn’t list everything but it is a start. What it does do is show how I find and interact with other professionals as a student, solicitor and tutor. Although the tools provide me with the basis for doing that, my network is very much the resources and the people.

Leave a Reply

Categories

lawyerineducation

Putting the MAODE into practice

Public Law for Everyone

Professor Mark Elliott

Paul Maharg

legal education :: technology :: rhetoric :: legal theory

The Ed Techie » The Ed Techie

My Journey through MAODE

Legal Verdict

Legal Commentary from The Open University Law School

