Posted by: MandyS | April 19, 2013

Me and the Pedagogical Patterns Collector

Block 2, Weeks 8 & 9, Activity 5: Pedagogical Patterns Collector.

I struggled with this somewhat at first because the ‘set’ patterns were not really relevant to my own practice. In the end, I chose one which I could adapt slightly so that I could at least have a go at the Activity. What I found was that it was in fact very helpful in identifying what it was I was wanting to achieve in terms of Learning Outcomes.

Spurred on by the relative ease of use, I started mapping my own creation into it. What I wanted to establish here was whether my own interpretation of the activity from the module materials was still in keeping with the learning outcomes i.e. I was not  just using technology for technologies sake and there was a purpose to my design. Although the first part was straightforward, the actual ‘adaption’ proved beyond my technical ability. Nor did I have time to sit down and read the instructions in sufficient detail to establish where I was going wrong. This was a shame but in the end, it was not possible to save the PPC to my own computer so I ended up taking a screen shot and my ‘pattern’ is now lost forever!

I can see the benefits of this as a tool for mapping design to pedagogy but I wonder, in reality, how many will make use of it. What I liked about this tool in particular is that one can see at a glance what is intended as the learning outcome and more importantly, how long it is envisaged it will take to complete the activity. I think this is one of the benefits if one is seeking to adapt one of the patterns for ones own use; there is no point adopting an activity which takes an age to complete. Students themselves want straightforward activities, which help them to achieve something with more or less instant success so that they can then build up their confidence to engage in the ‘deeper’ learning that module materials hope to promote as a whole.

Leave a Reply

Categories

lawyerineducation

Putting the MAODE into practice

Lawyer In The Making

Rebecca Morgan

Public Law for Everyone

Professor Mark Elliott

Paul Maharg

legal education :: technology :: rhetoric :: legal theory

The Ed Techie

My Journey through MAODE

Legal Verdict

Legal Commentary from The Open University Law School

