Posted by: MandyS | April 19, 2013

Differnet Schemas for thinking about design?

Block 2, Weeks 8 & 9, Activities 6, 7 and 8

A schema is a synopsis, outline or diagram. Yes, I am afraid I had to look it up as I had no idea what one was; not that the clue was there with the two diagrams doh! So here we go:

Four aspect of  learning:

Diagram of types of learning

Three dimensions of learning:

Diagram of 3D mapping framework

The idea is that the tool should map to the pedagogy and the learning outcomes. Using these Schemas, the designer can see the specific way in which a tool can be used to promote the four aspects of learning. I am not sure whether it is intended that each schema is used independently or whether the two should be used together to assess the benefit of the tool in education. For me, I think they show different things so I would choose to use both.

I can see the benefit of the schemas as a way of helping educators adopt a less tech-centred approach because I think it can instantly identify the purpose of the tool and whether it actually has any real benefit for the learner.

Leave a Reply

Categories

lawyerineducation

Putting the MAODE into practice

Lawyer In The Making

Rebecca Morgan

Public Law for Everyone

Professor Mark Elliott

Paul Maharg

legal education :: technology :: rhetoric :: legal theory

The Ed Techie

My Journey through MAODE

Legal Verdict

Legal Commentary from The Open University Law School

