Posted by: MandyS | April 15, 2013

Me and CompendiumLD

Block 2, Weeks 8 & 9, Activity 4: CompendiumLD.

I did rather wonder at the start of this activity how on earth I was going to map something which was only ever intended as a supplementary, self-contained, learning resource. I did think about choosing a tutorial instead, which might have been a whole lot simpler, but I decided to rise to the challenge; and I am glad I did.

I think the reason for this is because I was able to reflect on how my creation could be adapted into the module materials themselves. I think what makes it more difficult is the fact that I have a stand alone resource, which is hard to break down. To that end, I need to keep referring students to separate parts of it. The problem here would be the temptation of students to simply complete the Xerte activity rather than adopting the staged approach. One way around this would be to create separate activities outside of Xerte.

A useful tool for mapping tutorials but given the limited amount of creativity I have with the law module, I doubt it is something I will use in my own context very often.

Responses

  1. Your point about a lack of creativity in your tutoring role strikes a chord with a similar conversation Lynne and I had in the TGF.


Leave a Reply

Categories

lawyerineducation

Putting the MAODE into practice

Lawyer In The Making

Rebecca Morgan

Public Law for Everyone

Professor Mark Elliott

Paul Maharg

legal education :: technology :: rhetoric :: legal theory

The Ed Techie

My Journey through MAODE

Legal Verdict

Legal Commentary from The Open University Law School

