Posted by: MandyS | March 20, 2013

An end to Week 4…?

To say I got so far behind with Week 4 I think I did really well to get to grips with Brown et. al and take part in the Elluminate discussion. As any readers will realise, my attention to my blog has waned; not through disinterest but simply because of a lack of time. What I am doing now is catching up in rather a rudimentary way by just skimming the material. Anything of interest I have noted to return to later but I envisage this will never happen.

One such return to later is Engestrom’s Expansive Learning at Work. Quite frankly, I just don’t get it and I have now read it four times! What on earth is he talking about. To me, people theorising about how people learn and how it is brought about is just keeping them occupied; they clearly have too much time on their hands. People will learn however is best for them and what they do with their learning is again at their own discretion. My role is to facilitate that learning in whatever way I can and support them in their journey. The theories just don’t add anything to my own learning. As I have found from the forums, the theory just doesn’t match the reality.

Leave a Reply

Categories

lawyerineducation

Putting the MAODE into practice

Public Law for Everyone

Professor Mark Elliott

Paul Maharg

legal education :: technology :: rhetoric :: legal theory

The Ed Techie

My Journey through MAODE

Legal Verdict

Legal Commentary from The Open University Law School

