Posted by: MandyS | November 15, 2011

Creating an accessible learning resource…mmmm…?

Well, where do I start with this? Creating the resource itself has been fun and a great learning experience, likewise making the website and its contents accessible. But it is so frustrating when all that time and effort is wasted when one ‘bit’ just won’t work. I think what is more frustrating is the fact that it is clearly possible, as Darren and Sarah’s resources show, but if you simply don’t know how to solve the problem, who do you ask? Funnily enough, I have a note to myself in relation to Seale’s comment about it being ‘very tempting to place all the responsibility for delivering accessible e-learning onto the shoulders of one person, usually the designer/developer’ (2006, pp. 2-3). It says “are they not best placed to know what works?” I agree with Seale that everyone should be involved in making online learning accessible, and even at this stage in the course, I am much more aware of my own responsibility. However, I am not trained in technology or its use; I don’t know the pitfalls and I certainly don’t know how to begin solving problems. The little knowledge I have is as a result of trial and error; a very time-consuming way of creating accessible learning material. I doubt I am on my own in this respect and I would suggest it is perhaps one of the main reasons why it is tempting to leave it to the professionals, and why tutors/lecturers shy away from taking responsibility. That aside, I know the answer is out their somewhere and, in true lawyer fashion, I will not be defeated…

Leave a Reply

Categories

lawyerineducation

Putting the MAODE into practice

Public Law for Everyone

Professor Mark Elliott

Paul Maharg

legal education :: technology :: rhetoric :: legal theory

The Ed Techie » The Ed Techie

My Journey through MAODE

Legal Verdict

Legal Commentary from The Open University Law School

