Posted by: MandyS | January 7, 2011

Unit 9 post op!

A major achievement considering I still only have the use of one hand having stupidly suggested the surgeon put the anaesthesia in my bad arm (thinking it better to have one bad arm than risking two). I look as though I have been attacked by a vampire, or so I am led to believe as I am not allowed to look in the mirror. I did have a sneaky peak but stopped when I saw the devastating bruising creeping around the side of my neck. Has it worked? well only time will tell. The surgeon reassured me that it will be worse before it is better and he had to be right!

Anyway, my task tonight was to complete Unit 9 before I get so far behind that I begin to think the unthinkable.

I quite enjoyed doing this research and read some fascinating articles, although my forum post probably doesn’t do this justice. There were a number of points which I hadn’t really associated with blogs:

1. Students have long learned as much from each other as they have from an instructor or a textbook ( Williams & Jacobs). I remember when I was an undergraduate and had what appeared to be a nonsensical property essay to write. A few of us spent the night chatting it through until we finally came up with an answer and found we learned more about property law that night than we had the whole of the year.

2. Blogs encourage students to write (Downes 2004). I think it is true that students probably write less these days. This is really not surprising when one considers the number of abbreviations and text-speak in use today, the fact that a lot of learning is interactive involving much box ticking, and that information can so easily be copied and pasted and then rearranged and juggled with to suit.

3. They are about “engaging with the content and with the authors of what you have read – reflecting, criticizing , questioning, reacting” ((Downes 2004). For me, this statement has had the most impact because I am conscious I have not been doing this as effectively as I should have been. Perhaps if I had, some aspects of the course would not have been quite so difficult (like the last TMA!). I have focused on the technology and my journey in using it but I now know there is far more to this course than that and that is what makes the true ‘elearning professional’ stand apart from the rest. It is too late now, but I can learn for the future, which is what Kolb says I should be doing!

4. Blogs are a process of “bringing life into learning” (Downes 2004 – again!) Reading other people’s blogs about their own experiences, thoughts and opinions of H808 and the material certainly gives a more human aspect to the course. I have tried to read and keep up-to-date with all of those in my group and some of those from other groups. They are so diverse! I don’t know what I was expecting from the blogging aspect of the course but I have been slightly amused that the hits for mine have risen dramatically in the last couple of days. I wonder if others have experienced this. I may be cynical but the thought crosses my mind that this is more to do with the upcoming ECA. I only say this, not to offend, but because my own view is that the blogging has been fairly tame, few hits and even fewer comments. Either that or the fact that the activity for this unit has sparked a renewed enthusiasm.

I think I have learned more than I thought I would from this activity. And if you think I have managed to write such a lot with one hand, sorry, Nick has had to type most of it!

references:

AJET 20(2) Williams and Jacobs (2004) – exploring blogs as learning spaces in higher education

Downes S, Educational Blogging (EDUCAUSE Review) | EDUCAUSE

Leave a Reply

Categories

lawyerineducation

Putting the MAODE into practice

Public Law for Everyone

Professor Mark Elliott

Paul Maharg

legal education :: technology :: rhetoric :: legal theory

The Ed Techie

My Journey through MAODE

Legal Verdict

Legal Commentary from The Open University Law School

